• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

• Composer of orchestral scores possessing a driving, sometimes brutal energy, with later works featuring a new current of lyricism
• His scores have been performed by every major orchestra in the US and an increasing number in Europe and Asia
• Champions include conductors Alan Gilbert, David Robertson, Leonard Slatkin, Marin Alsop, and David Zinman
• Winner of the 1993 Pulitzer Prize in Music for his Trombone Concerto and two GRAMMY awards (Best Contemporary Composition, 2002 and 2021) for his guitar concerto, Concert de Gaudí and Symphony No. 5
• Among soloists, noted interpreters include Emanuel Ax, Evelyn Glennie, Sharon Isbin, Yo-Yo Ma, and Dawn Upshaw

Works by Christopher Rouse include:
Phaethon (1986) for orchestra
Flute Concerto (1993) for flute and orchestra
Der gerettete Alberich (1997) for solo percussion and orchestra
Odna Zhizn (2009) for orchestra

Looking Ahead: Leonard Slatkin leads the Aspen Music Festival Orchestra in The Infernal Machine from Phantasmata (Jul 21)

“Rouse can make even a modestly sized orchestra roar, shriek and nearly explode.” —NPR

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications