• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

Helmut Oehring is of the most striking composers to emerge from East Berlin * Experiences as a child of deaf-mute parents led to highly original perspective on the nature of sound and communication * Early influences of rock and jazz, then at age of 23 embraced Western composed music, while continuing to play and compose for electric guitar * Inspired by cinema and other visual media, including cutting techniques in Fassbinder's films * A number of works integrate simultaneous sign-language performance by deaf-mute artists * Music programmed at leading festivals including Munich Biennale, Wien Modern, Spoleto, Donaueschingen, Witten, Almeida Opera and Biennale Venice

Works by Helmut Oehring include:
MARIE B. (Seven Chambers) (1997) for string quartet
PHILIPP (1997/2001) solo instrument (versions for trombone, trumpet, clarinet and others)
UNSICHTBAR LAND (2004/05) opera
GOYA I (2006) Symphony
GOYA II (2007) ‘Memoratorio’

With his expressive musical language, Helmut Oehring has responded to the demand to relate music to reality in a new way. – Gisela Nauck

Also visit the Helmut Oehring website at www.helmutoehring.de

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications