• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

• Works explore boundaries of classical and rock, pitch and noise, convention and invention
• Many works embrace electro-acoustic elements and industrial sonorities
• Writes for existing instruments with creative and re-imagined roles, as well as "Cinderella" instruments (invented instruments made from found materials)
• "An unconventional lyricism and a menacing beauty" (WNYC Soundcheck)
• Commissions include Los Angeles Philharmonic, MusikFabrik, So Percussion, Ensemble Klang, Bang on a Can All Stars, London Sinfonietta,the BBC, Oregon Symphony, Alarm Will Sound, and New World Symphony
• Awarded the Guggenheim Fellowship in 2017
• Composition Faculty at Peabody Institute since 2009

Works by Oscar Bettison include:
O Death (2005–07) for 2 saxophones, trombone, percussion, piano, and electric guitar
B+E (with aggravated assault) (2006) for bass clarinet, percussion, piano, electric guitar, violin, and cello
Gauze Vespers (2007) for clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, and cello
Livre des Sauvages (2012) for large ensemble

For more information and sound samples, please visit www.oscarbettison.com

“It’s not that refinement is a bad thing. But there are times when it can get in the way.”
—Oscar Bettison

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications