• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

• York Höller is acclaimed for pioneering scores, many of which explore the fusion of live and electronic sounds
• Winner of the 2010 Grawemeyer Award for the orchestral cycle Sphären
• Music combines modernist techniques, references to Romanticism, and refined French-influenced orchestration
• Invited by Boulez to compose at IRCAM and by Stockhausen to WDR in Cologne, where he became Director of the Electronic Studio
• His Bulgakov opera The Master and Margarita (1989) was premiered at the Paris Opera
• Interpreters include Ensemble InterContemporain, Ensemble Modern, Arditti Quartet, London Sinfonietta, Berlin Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony, WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne and conductors Pierre Boulez, Daniel Barenboim, Lothar Zagrosek, Michael Gielen, Peter Eötvös, Semyon Bychkov and Hans Zender

Works by York Höller include:
Concerto for Viola and Orchestra (2016–17)
Monogramme (1998–2003) 14 Character pieces for piano
Gegenklänge (1997) for chamber ensemble
Aura (1991–92) for large orchestra

Looking Ahead: new work for Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne (WP Dec 2024)

"I have appreciated York Höller for years. For me, the special feature of his musical language lies in the mixture of rationality, in terms of structural design, and a strongly developed sense of sound." - Daniel Barenboim

Also visit the York Höller website at www.yorkhoeller.de

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications