• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Scoring - - perc(2) - pft

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


Composer's Notes

For the concert celebrating the 30th anniversary of the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec, I decided to write a piece in tribute of the music of Quebec. I chose 4 composers who have marked Quebec contemporary music. Consequently, Jeu des portraits is organized in 4 movements:

I Vagues, in tribute to Rodolphe Mathieu (1890-1962)
II Vents, in tribute to Jean Papineau-Couture (1916-2000)
III Plages, in tribute to Serge Garant (1929-1986)
IV Chants, in tribute to Claude Vivier (1948-1983)

It was not my goal to make a pastiche of their musical languages. Rather, with my own cultural baggage and through the filter of my own sensibility, I tried to express different impressions that their music has suggested to me, what it evokes in my imagination. I developed Vagues from harmonic material from the Trois Préludes pour piano by R. Mathieu, and I tried to conserve the sort of “end-of-the-century” climate that dominates the piece. Vents is the only of the four movements which starts off with an exact quotation: the beginning of Vents capricieux sur le clavier and the Rondo excerpt of the Suite pour piano. In Plages, I was exploring, in my own way, the Pointillist textures that were so dear to Garant, as well as using a numerically proportional series taken from The Musical Offering of J.S. Bach (3419825), a series that he often used in his works. The fourth movement was developed from a chord borrowed from Vivier’s Shiraz for piano. The colours evoked from the tubular bells and the gamelan gongs evoke the sonic universe that was Vivier’s

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications