• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

2(I=picc, II=Afl).2(II=corA).2(I=Ebcl, II=Bcl).2(II=Cbsn)-4.2.1.btrbn.1-timp.perc(3):cym/mark.tree/tgl/caxixi;tom-t/mar;xyl/vib/metal.shakers/caxixi-strings

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Jacoby Symphony Hall, Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville Symphony Orchestra / Courtney Lewis
Composer's Notes

Visual Rhythms is composed in 11 short vignettes, which each reflect on specific works of art from the personal collection of Robert O'Meally (Columbia University). This collection includes works by Norman Lewis, Romare Bearden, Alfred Smith, John Abbott, Frank Stewart, Herman Leonard, and Petra Richterová.

The movements of Visual Rhythms are as follows:
I. Norman Lewis, Autumn Garden
II. Romare Bearden, Circe
III. Alfred Smith, "visual rhythms"
IV. Norman Lewis, "red"
V. John Abbott, Sonny Rollins
VI. Frank Stewart, "dancer"
VII. Norman Lewis, "black and white 1"
VIII. Norman Lewis, "man sitting"
IX. Herman Leonard, Billie Holiday
X. Petra Richterová, Chucho Valdés
XI. Norman Lewis, "black and white 2"

Each work in O'Meally's collection had a story behind why it was collected, and what personal meaning it had. I began composing reflections on the different works I saw there—some movements convey the general mood or impression of the artwork, and others are more literal in conveying elements, shapes, and colors. I was particularly drawn to the Norman Lewis paintings in the collection, and composed multiple vignettes inspired by his work that share similar harmonies. These Lewis-inspired movements are woven throughout the work, helping to anchor the larger piece.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications