• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
BBC Broadcast, Glasgow
Gervase de Peyer, clarinet / BBC Scottish Orchestra / Berthold Goldschmidt
Repertoire Note

Goldschmidt’s three concertos, for cello, clarinet and violin, were all completed during the early 1950s and reveal an innate understanding of their respective solo instruments. The Clarinet Concerto was originally written for Gervase de Peyer, for whom Goldschmidt also wrote his Clarinet Quartet nearly thirty years later. The generally lyrical, pastoral tone of the work is perhaps a reflection of English music influences which also surface in other pieces from this period. Goldschmidt exploits the full range of the instrument from the chalameau tones of the lower register to the brilliance of the upper, providing the soloist with a virtuoso display piece. A valuable addition to the limited repertoire of 20th century clarinet concertos.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications