• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Digital Score
Subscribe to nkoda

World Premiere
Beethovensaal, Berlin
Bruno Eisner, piano
Repertoire Note

Goldschmidt’s piano works are relatively few in number, but those that exist are highly characteristic and demonstrate a highly personal yet idiomatic approach to the instrument. At 18 minutes, the Sonata of 1926 is the most substantial of Goldschmidt’s piano works; it is also one of his most harmonically complex and rhythmically adventurous scores, characteristics it shares with the String Quartet No.1 op.8 and Partita for orchestra op.9 written at around the same time. It takes a player with a spirit of adventure to master the considerable technical difficulties, but will amply reward those prepared to meet the challenge, while a confident, high-energy performance provides a thrilling listen.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications