• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

string quartet

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Mandelring Quartett
Repertoire Note

Goldschmidt’s four string quartets span the whole of his compositional career: the first was written in 1926 while he was still a student in Berlin; the fourth, completed in 1992 at the age of 89, was his last work in the chamber medium. Like the Third Quartet, the Fourth is in one continuous movement. Goldschmidt’s initial idea was to write a divertimento-like piece, in contrast to the prevailingly dark tone of the Second and Third Quartets. But during the course of composition, his companion Margot Rosenkranz lost her son and this event cast its shadow over the works' overall character. The deceptively playful opening viola solo, with its tension between the neighbouring tonalities of C and D flat, contains the seeds of everything else that happens in this closely argued work, which is in fact a concentrated and tightly-knit set of variations.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications