• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Music Text

Psalms 120 & 124 (G)

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Jesus Christus Church, Berlin
Endrik Wottrich / Rundfunk Sinfonieorchester / Berthold Goldschmidt
Repertoire Note

This was the last work Goldschmidt wrote before leaving Germany and settling in England in 1935. The score was 'lost' until 1992 and the world premiere took place in 1994 in Berlin with Goldschmidt conducting. The two Psalms form a single, continuous ternary-form movement, beginning with a robust Allegro marziale followed by a slower Larghetto section in halting march rhythm, finally coming full circle with a return to the tempo of the opening.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications