• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Glasslands, composed for saxophonist Jess Gillam, receives its world premiere with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra conducted by Han-na Chang on February 18-19.

On February 18-19, British saxophonist Jess Gillam joins the Detroit Symphony Orchestra and Han-Na Chang for the world premiere of Anna Clyne’s new saxophone concerto, Glasslands, at Orchestra Hall. The February 19 performance will be webcast for free at dso.org and via Facebook Live as part of DSO’s Live from Orchestra Hall series.

> February 18-19: Anna Clyne, Glasslands (World Premiere) with Jess Gillam, saxophone, Detroit Symphony Orchestra, and Han-Na Chang, conductor

Glasslands—which has been co-commissioned by Detroit Symphony Orchestra, BBC Radio 3, National Arts Centre Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfonica de Castillo y León, and Artis—Naples, Naples Philharmonic—conjures an imaginary world of three realms governed by the banshee—a female spirit who, in Irish folklore, heralds the death of a family member, usually by wailing, shrieking, or keening in the silence of the night. The piece is written in three parts and is approximately 22 minutes long.

This piece follows another piece that Clyne wrote for Jess Gillam: Snake & Ladder (2019) for solo saxophone. Clyne composed this short, fast, and playful piece inspired by Gillam’s virtuosity, full of winding chromatic lines and jumps that are referenced by the work’s title.

Han-na Chang has also conducted several concerts of Anna Clyne’s music this season with the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, where Chang is the Artistic Leader and Chief Conductor and Clyne is the 2022-2023 Composer in Residence. Chang also conducts Clyne’s orchestral work This Midnight Hour with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra (Feb 9-11) and with the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra (Feb 24-25).

Concert Information
Saturday, February 18 at 8pm ET
Sunday, February 19 at 3pm ET
Orchestra Hall | Detroit
More info

Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Han-Na Chang, conductor
Jess Gillam, saxophone

PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY Romeo & Juliet Fantasy Overture
ANNA CLYNE Glasslands (World Premiere)

>  Further information on Work: Glasslands

Photo: Christina Kernohan

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications