• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Louis Andriessen has been named Musical America’s 2010 Composer of the Year.

Louis Andriessen, who Los Angeles Times’s Mark Swed calls “a rebel with a very large cause,” will be on hand in New York City for the official Musical America awards ceremony at Lincoln Center on Monday, December 14. He will be joined by Instrumentalist of the Year, Joshua Bell; Vocalist of the Year, Elina Garanca; “Collaborative Pianist” of the Year, Warren Jones; and Musician of the Year, conductor Riccardo Muti, who recently appointed Anna Clyne as a Composer-in-Residence with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

With this award Andriessen joins previous Musical America Composers of the Year from Boosey & Hawkes: Elliott Carter (1993), John Adams (1997), Ned Rorem (1998), and Steve Reich (2001), and Christopher Rouse (2009).

Andriessen will return to New York in April 2010 for a number of performances of his works, in fulfillment of his role as the Richard and Barbara Debs Composer Chair at Carnegie Hall. A highlight of Andriessen’s Carnegie Hall residency will be two performances by the Asko | Schoenberg led by conductor Reinbert de Leeuw, the first of which will include the New York premiere of his 2008 opera, La Commedia, presented in a concert version in Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage.  A Carnegie Hall Making Music: Louis Andriessen program showcases both soprano Dawn Upshaw in Andriessen's Dances and the Bang on a Can All-Stars in the New York premiere of a new Andriessen work with video. 

Also featured in April is the American Composers Orchestra, presenting Andriessen’s Symphony for Open Strings alongside three world premieres by young North American composers/protégés of Andriessen, and a concert by Ensemble ACJW, featuring Andriessen’s seminal 1974 work De Staat, a raucously intense piece which borrows text from Plato’s "The Republic" and which first brought the composer’s name to wide acclaim, led by composer John Adams, also led the work's American premiere in the 1980s. 

As part of his residency, Andriessen also curates a series of late-night improvisatory double-bill concerts in Weill Recital Hall entitled “Three Naughty Boys and Three Crazy Girls,” with tap dancer Savion Glover sharing a program with vocalist Greetje Bijma (accompanied by Andriessen himself on the piano); violinist/vocalist Iva Bittová with saxophonist Evan Parker, and cellist Ernst Reijseger with vocalist Cristina Zavalloni.  

Previous holders of the Carnegie Hall Composer’s Chair include John Adams (2003-2007) and Elliott Carter (2008-2009). 

New Video: View an interview with Louis Andriessen talking about his life and music.

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications