• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

In October, Magnus Lindberg unveils his third piano concerto, premiered by soloist Yuja Wang, the San Francisco Symphony, and Esa-Pekka Salonen. Wang tours the concerto to Toronto, New York, Paris, Hamburg, and Rome throughout the fall and spring.

Composer Magnus Lindberg’s new Piano Concerto No. 3 for superstar pianist Yuja Wang debuts on October 13-15 with the San Francisco Symphony and Esa-Pekka Salonen, a close collaborator of many decades. After the world premiere, Wang tours the concerto internationally to orchestras in five different cities: Toronto Symphony Orchestra (Oct 20 & 22), New York Philharmonic (Jan 5–10), Orchestre de Paris (Apr 13–14), NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester in Hamburg (May 5 & 7), and Orchestra dell’Academia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome (May 11–13).

> Oct 13-15: Magnus Lindberg, Piano Concerto No. 3 (World Premiere)

Lindberg, a pianist himself who grew up watching legends such as Sviatoslav Richter and Emil Gilels perform in Finland, has a deep love for the instrument. He has written two previous piano concertos, for Paul Crossley and Yefim Bronfman. Lindberg states, “Piano for me has always been the ultimate instrument. A piano onstage in a big hall—there is nothing more beautiful.”

Lindberg describes his concerto for Yuja Wang as epic in scope: “It is almost like an opera—it’s so rich in its storytelling. It’s huge. In a way, it’s the biggest piece I’ve written.” Composed in three movements (“I would almost call it three concertos in one piece,” says Lindberg), the score is woven together as a multi-faceted narrative featuring various musical characters, each marked by distinct harmonies and tempos:

“I have a chart of eight different characters that I’ve arranged like a William Faulkner novel: There are many stories going on at the same time—you present one, move on to the next one, then return to another one. Every time a story returns, it has something new to say.”

> READ: “Magnus Lindberg Introduces Piano Concerto No. 3”

The Piano Concerto No. 3 was commissioned by China National Centre for The Performing Arts, San Francisco Symphony, Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonie de Paris - Orchestre de Paris, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, and the New York Philharmonic.

Thursday, October 13, 2022 at 7:30 PM
Friday, October 14, 2022 at 7:30 PM
Saturday, October 15, 2022 at 7:30 PM

Davies Symphony Hall | San Francisco
Yuja Wang, piano
San Francisco Symphony / Esa-Pekka Salonen

CARL NIELSEN Helios Overture
BÉLA BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra

Post-Concert Q&A: A post-concert audience Q&A session with composer Magnus Lindberg and pianist Yuja Wang will be presented from the stage following the concert on October 13. Free to all ticket holders.

Learn more at sfsymphony.org.

October 13-15, 2022
Davies Symphony Hall | San Francisco, California
Yuja Wang, piano
San Francisco Symphony / Esa-Pekka Salonen

October 20 & 22, 2022
Roy Thomson Hall | Toronto, Canada
Yuja Wang, piano
Toronto Symphony Orchestra / Gustavo Gimeno

January 5–10, 2023
David Geffen Hall | New York, New York
Yuja Wang, piano
New York Philharmonic / Santtu-Matias Rouvali

April 13–14, 2023
Philharmonie de Paris
Grande salle Pierre Boulez | Paris, France
Yuja Wang, piano
Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

May 5 & 7, 2023
Elbphilharmonie | Hamburg, Germany
Yuja Wang, piano
NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Esa-Pekka Salonen

May 11-13, 2023
Santa Cecilia Hall | Rome, Italy
Yuja Wang, piano
Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia / Mirga Gražinyte-Tyla

>  Further information on Work: Piano Concerto No.3

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications