• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

English Deutsch
Music Text

Libretto by Otto Staininger after Vassilis Zioghas (G)


colS,M,T,Bar,B; chorus;

Abbreviations (PDF)



This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Conductor: Ralf Weikert
Company: Ensemble Theater Bonn


MARKOS, the dead man Baritone
DIMITRAKIS, cousin of the dead man Bass
FEMALE COUSIN of Markos and Dimitrakis Coloratura Soprano
NEPHEW of Markos Dimitrakis Mezzo soprano
SABAS, Markos' Neighbour Tenor
Male neighbours from the chorus (SA)
Female neighbours from the chorus (TB)
Time and Place

Living room or any room. Present time


The dear neighbour has spent all his money on a coffin. He wants to die. He thinks it proper to die now. His neighbours do not think that is right. They complain about it. The dear neighbour wants to die, to die and to die. Again and again he lies down in his coffin. Suddenly he does not want to die any more. His neighbours do not think that is right.  Zioghas’ text fell into my hands accidentally. Contemporary timelessness. What I believed to have found, had to do with both the variety of possible interpretations, deriving from the treatment of the characters – people moving as monumentally as puppets – as well as with the limitations of the fable in a sort of ordinariness, somewhat similar to vaudeville and circus...
Arghyris Kounadis


Comic, Dramatic

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications