• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

The Boosey & Hawkes catalogue is unparalleled as one of the greatest treasures of contemporary American vocal literature. This major new series celebrates the best in American opera, with favourites and lesser-known gems from Stravinsky’s Rakes Progress, John Adams' Nixon in China, Bernstein’s Trouble in Tahiti and other great operas by Dominic Argento, Ned Rorem and Carlisle Floyd. Suitable for professional and college-level singers, ideal for recitals and auditions, and an essential resource for the study of the American opera repertoire.


01 John Adams: "Magnificat" from El Niño
02 John Adams: "This is prophetic!" from Nixon in China
03 Dominick Argento: "The Widow's Aria" from The Boor
04 Dominick Argento: "Sabrina's Aria" from Colonel Jonathan the Saint
05 Dominick Argento: "Allegra's Aria" from Colonel Jonathan the Saint
06 Dominick Argento: "I see in you a looking glass" from Miss Havisham's Fire
07 Dominick Argento: "Lady with a Hand Mirror Aria" from Postcard from Morocco
08 Dominick Argento: "Virginia's Aria" from The Voyage of Edgar Allan Poe
09 Leonard Bernstein: "Mommy, are you here?" from A Quiet Place
10 Aaron Copland: "Queenie's Song" from The Second Hurricane
11 Aaron Copland: "Laurie's Song" from The Tender Land
12 Aaron Copland: "The sun is coming up" from The Tender Land
13 Carlisle Floyd: "Rented rooms" from Cold Sassy Tree
14 Carlisle Floyd: "Sadie's Lament" from Slow Dusk
15 Carlisle Floyd: "Someday I'm sure to marry you" from The Sojourner and Mollie Sinclair
16 Carlisle Floyd: "Ain't it a pretty night" from Susannah
17 Carlisle Floyd: "The trees on the mountains" from Susannah
18 Carlisle Floyd: "I should have ended it long ago" from Willie Stark
19 Igor Stravinsky: "No word from Tom" from The Rake's Progress
20 Igor Stravinsky: "Cabaletta" from The Rake's Progress

Customer Reviews

"A fantastic anthology, especially as it comes with an accompanying CD — useful when practising these challenging pieces! Great to see the inclusion of works by John Adams."
Rating: 5/5  7/28/2005

Tell us what you think
Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications