• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

Mark-Anthony Turnage is one of the most admired and widely-performed composers of his generation * Studied with Oliver Knussen and John Lambert in London and Gunther Schuller in Tanglewood * works skilfully blend classical and jazz idioms, modernism and tradition * has composed under residencies/associations with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, English National Opera, BBC Symphony Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra and Chicago Symphony Orchestra * conductors of Turnage's works include Simon Rattle, Andrew Davis, Vladimir Jurowski, Daniel Harding, Antonio Pappano, Andris Nelsons, Vassily Petrenko, Oliver Knussen and Leonard Slatkin * has collaborated with jazz musicians John Scofield, Peter Erskine and Joe Lovano, soloists Håkan Hardenberger, Christian Lindberg, Christian Tetzlaff and Marc-André Hamelin, and Ensemble Modern, London Sinfonietta and the Nash Ensemble * stage works include operas Anna Nicole and Coraline for The Royal Opera and dance collaborations Trespass and Strapless with Christopher Wheeldon and UNDANCE with Wayne McGregor * music is recorded on the Decca, Deutsche Grammophon, Warner Classics, Chandos, LPO and LSO Live labels * Awarded a CBE in the 2015 Queen's Birthday honours

Works by Mark-Anthony Turnage include:
From the Wreckage (2004) for trumpet and orchestra
Chicago Remains (2007) for orchestra
Remembering (2014-15) for orchestra

Turnage's music before 2003 is published by Schott and is represented by Cathy Nelson Artists and Projects for commissions and general management.

Publications of music by Turnage are available on sale from our online Music Shop.

Looking Ahead: new guitar concerto for John Scofield, titled Sco, with the London Symphony Orchestra under Simon Rattle in London and Paris (12/14 Jan 2025); world premiere of Festen, based on the acclaimed film by Thomas Vinterberg, staged by Richard Jones for The Royal Opera (Feb 2025); Glyndebourne stages new operatic version of Edith Nesbit's classic The Railway Children (Autumn 2025).

"...clarity is paramount, and it is not only words that come across vividly, but feelings too. The sheer theatricality of the music is dazzling… Turnage knows precisely how to hold the audience's interest and sympathy…" — Daily Telegraph

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications