• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Buffo Set is a four movement suite composed in the 1960s by American composer-bassist, Armand Russell, and is aimed at the intermediate bassist. It remains in bass clef throughout and the mildly chromatic idiom and strong rhythmic momentum make this ideal as concert or study material. There is effective interplay between the two instruments, combining technical challenges with musical ones, with great scope for inventiveness within a more challenging soundworld.

Armand Russell has composed many works for double bass - beginner to advanced - and Recital Music are planning to publish many of these works which remain in manuscript.

Buffo Set was written in 1964 for double bass students at the University of Hawaii in Honolulu. The first version was for 2 double basses and was followed, later that year, with a version for double bass and piano. The premiere of both versions was at the University of Hawaii in 1965.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications