• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

A major addition to the concertante trombone repertory, this single-movement work lasting 30 minutes was premiered in 2017 by Jörgen van Rijen and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, conducted by Iván Fischer. Press reviews were ecstatic: “… this magnificent concerto enriches the repertoire … The trombone sang, sang, sang … then suddenly a spectacular mating dance of four trombones à la Stockhausen. At the very end van Rijen and MacMillan struck me down completely: between the serene harmonies which came to a moment of rest, the trombone once more entered with a heart-breaking eruption … the wonderful beauty of despair … It is a concerto for eternity, and trombone players could use one.” – De Trouw.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications