• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Looking outside the purely Western European tradition for inspiration & freshness, Karl Jenkins sets the 13th-century Stabat Mater text in Latin & English & has extended it to a universal depiction of grief with six other texts, including Ave verum corpus (originally composed for Bryn Terfel), Lament by Carol Barratt, and English texts derived from ancient Babylonian and mediaeval Persian sources.

A major new choral/orchestral work from the composer of Adiemus and The Armed Man. The 13th-century Latin text receives a fresh expression and intensity in Karl Jenkins's setting. By turns dramatic and reflective, Stabat Mater will be eagerly seized on by Jenkins fans everywhere. The scoring is for voices & modern symphony orchestra augmented by indigenous instruments such as the darabuca (hand drum) & riq (small tambourine), & the mey (woodwind).

Suitable for choirs of intermediate standard upwards. Vocal/piano score for mixed choir (SATB) and piano.
  - Cantus lacrimosus
  - Incantation
  - Vidit Jesum in tormentis
  - Lament
  - Sancta Mater
  - Now my life is only weeping
  - And the Mother did weep
  - Virgo virginum
  - Are you lost out in darkness?
  - Ave verum
  - Fac, ut portem Christi mortem
  - Paradisi gloria

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications