• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

GRAMMY AWARD WINNER 2010 in the Best Classical Contemporary Composition category for the Jennifer Higdon.

These live recordings of three modern classics reflect the London Philharmonic Orchestra’s strong commitment to contemporary composers.

The first two are breakthrough works from 1990 by British composers Thomas Adès and James MacMillan, the third a spectacular concerto by Jennifer Higdon, one of America’s most successful composers. Marin Alsop and Colin Currie give impassioned performances revealing the full range of emotions contained in the music.

Marin Alsop has made many previous recordings with the London Philharmonic Orchestra. These include the entire set of Brahms symphonies and a number of contemporary works by the orchestra’s Composer in Residence Mark-Anthony Turnage.

‘Whistles and whoops greeted this invigorating première.’ --Daily Telegraph, December 2007

‘Exciting music, excitingly performed; from Alsop you expect nothing else.’ --The Times, February 2007

'Vivid accounts of visceral, career-launching contemporary works.' --Gramophone Magazine February 2009

MARIN ALSOP conductor
COLIN CURRIE percussion
Pieter Schoeman leader

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications