• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Barry Douglas (piano)
Russian State Symphony Orchestra
Evgeny Svetlanov, conductor

“Douglas's immaculate, cool playing is wonderfully contrasted with Svetlanov's passionate urgings and the very Russian sound of the orchestra; it is sometimes hard to believe, when listening to the soupy brass and the unfathomable depth of the string tone, that these recordings are only 15 years old.” The Guardian, 4th July 2008 ****

“The sound of the piano comes across as perhaps a little pallid, but what Douglas does with the instrument more than makes up for it: his performance is full of virtuosity and sensitivity in equal measure. As for Svetlanov and his team, Douglas could not have received more experienced support in this music. The conductor follows every subtle inflection of the soloist’s rubato, while the orchestral playing brings a nostalgic reminder of a lost world.” The Telegraph, 16th August 2008

“Barry Douglas's performance of the First Concerto provides an arresting alternative to a more conventional approach. His brilliance has an acidulous edge that brings an unusual degree of verve and clarity to even the most thickly textured passages.” Gramophone Magazine, September 2008

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications