• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Norwegian composer Kim André Arnesen’s new piano music collection is being released by Boosey & Hawkes and Decca Classics as digital print and digital audio.

Kim André Arnesen releases four piano pieces inspired by his Nordic homeland over the next month, as digital print from Boosey & Hawkes and digital audio on Decca Classics. Internationally renowned for his choral music and large-scale works for chorus and orchestra, Arnesen presents his solo piano music for the first time.

Arnesen was inspired to connect with others around the world, also experiencing a form of ‘grounding’ due to the pandemic. He explains, “This music was written at home, inspired by what I saw through my window. The piano has always been my instrument, but I’ve been busy with larger projects for so many years that this was the first time everything was stripped down to the very intimate setting of a composer and his piano. One night I looked through the window. It was dark and quiet, and I started to play something peaceful in an attempt to comfort the world with music.”

“Christmas is a wonderful time but also a difficult time for many people. It is a time of year that has always inspired me as a composer. Here in the cold north, we experience darkness most of the day, but with glittering snow that brings its own light. I’m thrilled that my first piano singles with Decca are written for this time of year. They are musical pictures of the winter scene outside my window, as well as music with a wish of a peaceful time for people around the world.”

The first track, Light a Candle, is released on 11 Dec, to be followed by December Night (18 Dec), Snow Light (8 Jan) and Winter Moon (22 Jan).

> Buy the digital music for Light a Candle
> Stream the audio recording of Light a Candle

About the composer
Kim André Arnesen (b. 1980) grew up in Trondheim, Norway, and began his career at the music school at the age of six playing the piano. At age ten, he started singing in the Nidaros Cathedral Boys’ Choir. He was later educated at the Music Conservatory in Trondheim.

As a composer, he had his first performance in 1999 with the Boys’ Choir. Since then, he has written music that has been performed by choirs all around the world. Arnesen is an elected member of the Norwegian Society of Composers. In 2010, his first large-scale work, Magnificat, was commissioned and premiered by the Nidaros Cathedral Girls’ Choir. The premiere received overwhelming feedback and led to several new commissions. The Magnificat was released on CD in 2014 on the record label 2L. In 2011, Arnesen’s choral piece Even When He Is Silent had its premiere during the St. Olav Festival (Olavsfestdagene) in Trondheim. The piece was commissioned by the festival, and since its premiere has been performed numerous times around the world.

In 2013, Even When He Is Silent and Cradle Hymn were released on CD, DVD, and Blu-ray on the Christmas in Norway special with the St. Olaf Choir and Nidaros Cathedral Girls’ Choir. The show aired on television in the United States and Norway. Cradle Hymn was the best-seller among Santa Barbara Music Publishing’s Christmas music in 2014. In April 2014, Arnesen’s Requiem was premiered by the Nidaros Cathedral Boys’ Choir, and the work had its US premiere in April 2015 in West Virginia. The Denver-based choral ensemble Kantorei and their Artistic Director, Joel Rinsema, invited Arnesen to be Composer-in-Residence for their 2015-2016 season. Recent works include the Holy Spirit Mass, commissioned by the National Lutheran Choir for the 500th anniversary of the Reformation in 2017, and Stabat Mater written for the Haderslev Cathedral Girls Choir and broadcast on Danish Radio in 2020.

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications