• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Offenbach's opéras bouffes are firmly established in the repertoire yet, until now, no definitive performing editions have been available.

Announcing a new authoritative Offenbach Critical Edition published by Boosey & Hawkes/Bote & Bock. The edition is created in collaboration with French musicologist Jean-Christophe Keck and other leading musicologists, biographers and collectors. Drawing on first editions and original manuscripts, these will be the first authoritative editions to reflect the composer's original intentions.

The Offenbach Critical Edition will comprise 43 volumes of Stage works and Symphonic works. The edition was launched in Summer 2001 with a vocal score and full score (with CD-ROM) of Orphée aux enfers (1858 version), awarded the Deutscher Musikeditionspreis. La vie parisienne was released in March 2003. A CD-ROM containing a history of the work, an editorial report, the librettos in French, German and English and an extensive iconography is available as part of the full score editions but can also be purchased separately. Each volume features:

  • Cloth bound with dust jacket (310 mm x 230 mm)
  • Includes original libretto in French, German and English
  • Commentaries on the work and the edition
  • Iconography

    The full scores of the Offenbach Critical Edition are available on subscription with 1-2 volumes published per year; vocal scores are being published separately. For further subscription details please contact your local Boosey & Hawkes office:

    UK & Europe   North America   German speaking territories  Rest of the world

    Visit our new German language Offenbach Critical Edition website
Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications